Andrew Templin, PhD

Assistant Investigator

Joined the IBRI in June 2020

Andrew Templin

Andrew Templin joined the IBRI Diabetes Center in June 2020. He also holds positions at the Indiana University (IU) School of Medicine and the Roudebush VA Medical Center. Andrew’s lab studies the relationship between islet inflammation and beta cell dysfunction and death in the setting of diabetes. Ultimately, the goal of the Templin Lab is to uncover novel mechanisms of diabetes pathogenesis that affect islet beta cell health, and to use this information to develop new treatments for diabetes.

Prior to joining the IBRI, Andrew served as an Acting Instructor of Medicine at the University of Washington in Seattle. During his time there, he studied the role of islet amyloidosis in islet inflammation and beta cell loss in collaboration with Dr. Steven Kahn. This collaboration led to publications in DiabetesDiabetologia, and Diabetes Care, among others. For a full list of Templin's published research, click here.

Andrew received his Bachelor of Science degree from IU in 2006, during which time he was a member of the Hutton Honors College. After working and studying at Northwestern University in the Feinberg School of Medicine, Andrew returned to IU and obtained his PhD in Cellular and Integrative Physiology under the mentorship of Dr. Raghu Mirmira, graduating in 2014.

Andrew is a native Hoosier who enjoys travel, soccer, the Chicago Cubs and Golden Retrievers.

Areas of Expertise

  • Beta cell biology
  • Cell death signaling
  • Diabetology
  • Islet amyloidosis and biology


  • Postdoctoral Fellowship (Islet Biology), University of Washington, 2018
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Cellular and Integrative Physiology), Indiana University, 2014
  • Bachelor of Science (Biology, Chemistry, Business), Indiana University, 2006


Awards & Certifications

  • Indiana University (IU) Center for Diabetes and Metabolic Diseases Pilot & Feasibility Award, 2021
  • Veterans Affairs Career Development Award, 2019
  • University of Washington Brunzell Fellow Award, 2016
  • American Diabetes Association Postdoctoral Fellowship Award, 2015
  • Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award, 2015
  • American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship Award, 2011
  • IU Moenkhaus Physiology Fellowship Award, 2010

Honorary Societies

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • American Physiological Society
  • American Diabetes Association