Quantum Leap award applications are due September 30th.

Learn More


An institute built on a foundation of collaboration between industry and academia, as well as government and community, needs leaders that understand the unique needs of these groups.

Transformational leadership

Image of Alan Palkowitz

Alan Palkowitz, PhD, CEO & President, IBRI

We were pleased to announce the arrival of our new leader, Alan Palkowitz, PhD, in September 2020.

Chairman of the Board of Directors Daniel Evans, Jr., said, “Having spent time in industry and academia, Alan understands the many opportunities for collaboration to improve the lives of Hoosiers. He shares our passion for translational research and our vision to build a world-class organization that catalyzes activities across the life sciences ecosystem.”

Dr. Palkowitz maintains his role at the Indiana University (IU) School of Medicine as a senior research professor of medicine, where he directs the IUSM-Purdue TaRget Enablement to Accelerate Therapy Development for Alzheimer’s Disease (TREAT-AD) Center. He also is a key contributor to the IU Precision Health Initiative.

Prior to joining the IU School of Medicine, Dr. Palkowitz served as the vice president of Discovery Chemistry Research and Technologies at Eli Lilly and Company. In his role, he was responsible for the global small molecule drug discovery strategy and delivery of clinical candidates in disease areas including diabetes, oncology, immunology and neurodegenerative disorders.

Dr. Palkowitz has worked with the Board of Directors and leadership team to design a new strategic direction for the IBRI. He knows that to truly shape the future of translational science we must transform to achieve ambitious goals.

Catalysts for collaboration

Image of two people at the welcome desk at the IBRI

Office Manager Chereall DeBoest welcomes a visitor to the IBRI.

We had the honor of welcoming nine life sciences leaders to our Board of Directors in 2020.

  • Robert Bernhard, PhD
  • Kenneth Custer, PhD
  • Tatiana Foroud, PhD
  • Jay Hess, MD, PhD, MHSA
  • Cris Johnston
  • Theresa Mayer, PhD
  • Hany Moselhi, MD
  • Aaron Schacht
  • Wendy Srnic, PhD

They joined current board members Wayne Burris, Daniel Evans, Jr., John Lechleiter, PhD, Patricia Martin, Dan Peterson and Bill Stephan, and began working to help us achieve our goal to emerge as a key leader of innovative translational science that focuses on improving health outcomes in Indiana and the world.

Our research is made possible by your generous gift.

Your donation will help lead to solutions to major health challenges such as diabetes, cardiometabolic disease and poor nutrition.

donate now